This will never become a book.

2012 November 30 Friday

approaching The End

Filed under: writing — kdefg @ 23:32

The month of November has run its course.  NaNoWriMo is over, and I wrote more than 28,000 words of prose, adding to the 50K novel I produced in August.  I accumulated only 40 hours of actual writing time (not counting these blog posts), but probably spent at least as much time simply thinking about my story.  I did not finish my final chapter — yet.

Molly started to say something, but Samuel motioned for her to remain still.  He waited for Marcellus to disappear into the main building.  “We need to talk, but not here,” he whispered. “For the sake of our safety, mine as well as yours, act like you are cooperating.”  He sat back down, and indicated that she should do the same. “Do you trust me?”

She thought for a moment. “Do I have a choice?”

In mathematics there is a structure called an asymptote  from which we get the general concept of an asymptotic approach to a goal, meaning it gets closer and closer but the progress become incrementally smaller without ever reaching completion.  I feel that way about my final chapter.  I made great progress at first, but the closer I came to the conclusion, I slowed down.  I still want to reach that goal, but I am going to need to approach it from another angle of attack. I just bought a copy of Scrivener, and I am on a mailing list with a group of locals talking about forming a writing support group.

We are entering December, and the end of 2012.  I have always been fascinated by “end times” prophecies, so you can imagine how excited I am to see the Mayan calendar roll its odometer over to zero while the nutters panic the way they did for Y2K.  Assuming the world doesn’t end, the new year is slated to be full of changes.  I can’t wait to write about it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

