This will never become a book.

2012 November 3 Saturday

nod and smile

Filed under: writing — kdefg @ 23:28

I am always less productive on Saturdays, but I didn’t expect to be quite as far behind as I am right now.  My excuse was that I spent three and a half hours at the Red Cross today, donating platelets, followed by an afternoon napping on the couch. My local NaNoWriMo region had a write-in at a pub, but I passed up the chance to replenish my body fluids with alcohol.

My word count is now at 3,860 when the goal was to be at 5,000 by now.  Oh well, it’s too early to stress out about it. Here is my daily excerpt:

“Good morning,” said the receptionist, not to Ben but to the microphone beneath his chin.  “May I ask you for the nature of your request?”  He nodded at a screen which Ben couldn’t see, in response to a voice which Ben couldn’t hear.  “I’ll redirect you to that department,” he said with a public relations smile.  After he punched a selection on the terminal, his smile tightened briefly before turning to face Ben.

It’s a minor paragraph, but I like it.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

